Top Five Books of the Summer

I spent a lot of time reading this summer, and even though I did a lot of cover judging and reading based purely on recommendation, most of them were pretty great. There were only a few that were bad enough that I won’t be keeping my copies. But a few do deserve some honorable mentions because I loved them that much.

Kat, Incorrigible, by Stephanie Burgis. This was a really cute book with good characterization and development, a fun story, and a satisfying ending. It wasn’t particularly deep or intense, but it had its surprises. I also like a character who is constantly pushed down but ends up coming out on top. It’s definitely one that has guaranteed a read for its sequel.

Ink and Bone, by Rachel Caine. It’s a book about books, and you’d be surprised how many aren’t done well. But this one was. It was done really well. It was a solid, captivating story that built upon its already interesting premise. This was one of those “the premise is cool, but does the story do it justice?” Oh oh, does it ever. Also the first of a series, and I’ll be into that, too.

Ready Player One, by Ernest Cline. This was just amazing. I loved everything about this, from the fact that its set mostly in a video game to the seriously intense and well-written plot that came with it. (There’s also a character named “Artemis,” which I have used as an online moniker for years, so that was a plus.) This was one I could not set down until I was finished, and that doesn’t happen often. This book destroyed my sleep schedule and I love it for that.

Magonia, by Maria Dahvana Headley. This book was very, very out there. It had a lot of fantastic ideas and combined them all, and this is something that’s very hard to do from my experience, both as a writer and reader. But this wasn’t intimidating or overwhelming; it took these wild ideas and made them work. It asked me to believe a lot, but presented it all in a way that seemed perfectly doable. It also had me emotionally invested (and in tears) within the first twenty minutes, so that’s a serious win.

I Am Malala, by Malala Yousafzai. I’d always been interested in reading this, and I was glad I picked it up. It’s hard to believe that one person went through all of this. It’s a fascinating and eye-opening insight into what her world was like both before and after she was attacked. It’s written with sincerity, emotion, and a sense of humor, which made me admire Malala all the more. I’d recommend this to anyone, whether they know who she is or not.

If you had any amazing reads this summer, please share them! I’m always looking to add more to my to-read pile (because I’ve long since given up on working my way completely through the thing).

One thought on “Top Five Books of the Summer

Leave a Reply

