BREAKING: People On Internet Not Forced To View Things They Don’t Want

A new study recently released shows that people on the internet do not actually have to read or watch things if they don’t want.

DSCF0631AP – A new study has recently been released by the Center for the Advancement of Common Sense (CACS) that disproves a longstanding theory that internet users are forced to view all content they come across whether they want to or not.

The theory went that if someone on the internet came across a video or article in their social media feeds or subscription boxes, they were obligated to watch it whether the content appealed to them or not. This resulted in many viewers angrily attempting to tell people what type of content to post on their own pages. It was not uncommon to come across comments patiently explaining how content providers should alter their own content to appease their viewers. Messages were often mixed, because, as another recent study shows, opinions may just be subjective.

For many content providers, this study comes as a sense of immense relief, if only because they will no longer be bombarded by hate mail over content that people are not actually forced to watch.

“I just got so sick of people telling me what to post on my own channel,” YouTuber Jason Bobby Wells explained wearily. “I had this feeling in the back of my head, like, seriously dude, if you don’t like what I post, just don’t watch it. But I never said it because I didn’t think it was possible.”

For content consumers, the relief is equally present. Cathryne Smith, a 43-year-old unemployed mother of three children, quit her job two years ago due to lack of time for anything but internet surfing.

“It was terrible. I subscribed to 50 different YouTube channels, and they were just being uploaded too fast. I watched videos at work, in the car, I even tried to watch while I slept. One time I forgot to feed my kids for two weeks. I used to be a mother of four. Oops. Anyway, once this came out, I just felt so great. Now I don’t have to watch everything I see!”

Some viewers, however, are skeptical of the study’s claims.

“Well this is just stupid,” exclaims Sylvia Meyers, 17. “If we aren’t supposed to watch it, why is it there? Besides, everyone knows that everyone on the internet creates content only for me to enjoy. That’s why if someone doesn’t post something I like, I get to complain about it. Taking the time to watch the video and write a rant about how much I didn’t want to watch it is much easier than just not watching it in the first place.”

CACS founder Brian Adam Willis defended his study’s claim, saying that months of careful work went into the study to prove its effectiveness in a nearly infinite number of scenarios.

“We gave our test subjects a video to watch, then asked them to click the little red ‘x’ in the upper right corner before the video was over,” Willis explained. “Some of them fainted, some of them burst into tears, but after a few weeks our first brave subject managed to close out of a video before it was over. After that we knew anything was possible.”

Willis went on to explain that Mac users may have additional difficulty after they realize that their ‘x’ is not in the upper right corner.

This study alone displays groundbreaking results, but may not have the power necessary to induce change overnight. Nevertheless, now that such a scientific discovery has been made, scientists like Willis speculate that things will only get better from here.

8 thoughts on “BREAKING: People On Internet Not Forced To View Things They Don’t Want

  1. Hahaha, I love it. I think people have forgotten how to change channels, as it were. I mean, you don’t like it? Don’t watch it. If nobody watches it, it stops being produced. AMAZING!

    • Yeah. There’s definitely a difference between providing feedback and trying to control what people post. The entitled attitude is kinda weird.

    • Surprisingly I haven’t gotten too much of it myself. I see it happening a lot to people I follow on YouTube, G+, Facebook, etc. They’re all great, there’s just no pleasing some people.

  2. LOL! I was nearly finished with this, Daniel, before it dawned on me that this might be tongue-in-cheek – because it kind of hit home! I follow a ton of bloggers, and I genuinely like 85% of them (I really don’t know the other 15% that well), so I hate to miss any of their posts. I read them all, and then I feel compelled to comment, even though I know full well a simple “like” will suffice. But I never complain about content. πŸ˜‰ I’m still trying to get into a routine of only reading blogs a maximum of two hours per day – because I’ve spent full days blogging in the past, and yes, it got in the way of doing my job!

  3. Nick says:

    😑 I read this whole post because it was here on the interwebs for me to read. I did not like it one bit!!!!!!11!!1! 😑

    – Nick PBS

Leave a Reply

