Read Like The Wind!

This is how I felt in elementary school when most kids still had trouble reading any word with more than two syllables.

I don’t really like reading with other people. Whether it was a reading group in elementary school or reading a book over a friend’s shoulder for fun, it just annoyed me. Sure, the social aspect was fun. Sharing a book and reading experience with someone is nice, but I tend to like reading on my own time much better, mostly because I tend to read very, very fast.

For me, it’s the stop and go thing that bothers me. I’ll be reading, then I’ll have to wait for the other person to finish, read again, wait, repeat. Sometimes I’ll try to get myself to read more slowly, but then either it still won’t be slow enough, or it will be too slow. I spend more time focused on moderating my reading speed and end up not remembering anything about the book, then I have to go back and read the thing again anyway. Reading with another person is just a stressful experience.

I’ve always been this way. I love books. Give me a book and I will read it voraciously. This means that any interruptions or slowdowns are extremely unwelcome. I’m also the type of reader who reads almost every word, but admittedly glazes over some of the more boring parts, catching a few words here and there to get the gist of the story without putting the pointless bits in my head.

I admit to being a very impatient reader. Unless it’s something I really enjoy, I just want to get the story in my head. I don’t want to bother with the minor details or the text itself, I want the plot in my head. I’m the type of person that hates watching movies because I have to sit there for an hour and a half. I want the knowledge in my head without having to go through the viewing experience, because that takes time, and I want to spend my time doing something more active. I’m somewhat the same with books, which leads me to read as fast as I possibly can. Surprisingly I don’t miss too much, though occasionally I’ll have to go back and read something again (missing details also bugs the heck out of me).

Some people have said that really detracts from the experience, that they prefer to read more slowly, savor the experience and get involved in the world. Personally, my reading speed has never affected how involved I get with a book; in fact, I have a habit of getting drawn in so far that my day will just slip completely away and I’ll be up too late, behind on work or whatever else.

That said, I know everyone has their preferences. I’m the type who prefers the knowledge over the experience because I can always go back to it once it’s in my head, but others like to savor every moment they have a book in their hands. How do you read?

11 thoughts on “Read Like The Wind!

  1. J M Naszady says:

    I am a lingerer, the bane of every speed-reader. I literally absorb each word off of the page, and study it. Annoying, huh? As I mature, my reading has sped up a bit. I have become impatient to get to the point. Unless I LOVE the story, and want it to last as long as possible…oh, and by the way, thanks for visiting my site!

  2. I get impatient reading with others too. It doesn’t really bother me when someone reads over my shoulder (apparently some people can’t stand it), but I hate always having to moderate my speed as you mentioned, especially since maybe the other person is doing that too, so if they read too slow at first and you slowed down then they speed up and you’re left behind. It’s murder!

    • Haha. I actually get kind of uncomfortable when people are reading over my shoulder, and I don’t quite know why. When they stare at my computer screen it makes sense, because it’s stuff that I’m doing in my own time, but a book is a book… who knows! It baffles me. But I digress.

  3. liamodell1 says:

    I always read alone. For me it’s more fun, and it’s annoying when you have to wait for the other person to finish if you’re a fast reader. Funny pic too, very good!

  4. looseleafbri says:

    I totally agree! I love reading and am blessed with the ability to devour books. I can’t imagine that reading slowly would add to the enjoyment. I, too, have tried to read slowly but end up not actually reading, simply trying to set a pace. Growing up I was the nerd that read aloud to my friends. I enjoyed reading aloud, they enjoyed listening, and then I could read at my own pace. That was fun, other than the need to wait until we were all together to finish.

    • Sounds like you also had some pretty awesome friends. Might have been a generational thing… I’m seeing the love for reading kind of dissipating these days.

      • looseleafbri says:

        I agree and it’s unfortunate. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy television, but there is something about a good story in book form that you just can’t replace.

        And yes, my friends are great. I am very blessed.

  5. I’ve never liked reading with other people either. Having to slow down makes it hard for me to follow the story.
    I get too spacey…. when will the page turn? when will dinner be ready? do I smell chocolate? I wonder if the blonde is going to die first… oh! She turned the page… wait, what did I just read?

Leave a Reply

