Reading Books Over And Over

This is the book I have read more times than any other, save the random, extremely short books I always pick up to read when cleaning my room.

I was talking to my friend today, and she was telling me about a historical fiction novel that she was reading for the third time or so. It was clear that she enjoyed the book a lot, though one of the things that stuck out to me was the fact that she was going through it for a time that wasn’t the first. Reading a book more than once just isn’t something I do, but apparently very common to many people, and I didn’t realize just how common it was until I started talking to a lot of other readers.

With the exception of maybe two or three books, I just don’t read anything more than once. It’s never seemed like a good use of my time when there are so many unread books out there. I can watch movies more than once, listen to a song more than once, etc. but I can’t do the same with books. I think it has something to do with the length, and may also have to do with the fact that I’m kind of picky about how I spend my time. Whenever I’m doing something, I’m thinking, I’m sure I could be doing something more useful than this. Even if I am doing something useful. So to read a book, something that could take hours and hours, is a hassle.

When I read a book for the first time, I’m going on a new adventure. Around every corner is a surprise, something that keeps me wanting more, and I’ll pull all nighters because I get so excited. But if I’ve already read the book, there are no surprises. I know everything. It’s not new. It’s taking the same path, watching everything happen from a third person perspective instead of feeling like I’m involved in the book anymore. I like the feeling that I’m in a book, that I’m going on some journey with the characters… but if I’ve read the book already, I don’t have that feeling. And it sucks.

The photo above is my copy of The Lord of the Rings. I picked it up just as I started middle school, and it’s been taken everywhere and read countless times. Why do I make an exception for this? Maybe it’s because I feel like the world is just that cool and that it’s so huge and complex that I end up learning something new each time. I don’t honestly have a great answer for it; all I know is that this is one of those books I will probably read over and over as long as I own it.

What do you read more than once, and why? What brings you to read something more than once, even if you already know what’s going to happen?

6 thoughts on “Reading Books Over And Over

  1. Zen

    I’m more or less the same way. I do revisit books sometimes, but only after a period of time has passed since I last read them. Some books i often read include Harry Potter books (especially PoA) and Things My Girlfriend and I Argued About by Mil Millington.

    • Artemis

      Oddly enough, those are two books/book series I couldn’t ever imagine reading more than once. Mil’s book because it was tremendously meh, and HP because it was so awesome I can’t imagine ever forgetting anything. Then again, it’s been a while since I’ve read them, so I might just go beginning to end again one of these days.

  2. Satin Sheet Diva

    I’ll go back and re-read the previous book in a series before I read the newest addition just to reconnect with the story and the characters. It’s usually a long time between releases for books in a series (unless I’m hoarding…um I mean collecting them in hard back). Then there are times when I’ve just run out of things to read so I’ll reach for a favorite I haven’t read in years and immerse myself again. Granted, subsequent readings aren’t as exciting but they are still enjoyable enough and provide enough of an escape.

    • Artemis

      I do that occasionally. I did it with the Eragon books because Christopher Paolini took just so darn long to get the books out (and then added more to the series). I actually haven’t read the last one yet, if indeed it is the last one… I think I may have done it for Harry Potter too, but I also had all the books on tape, so I knew pretty much every book by heart at one point. >_> (Listening to them every night for years will do that.)

      • Satin Sheet Diva

        LOL – yes, I suppose it would. I have a terrible memory when it comes to books so fortunately, the longer I go between readings, the more like new the re-read experience. But what is this you say? There are more books in the Eragon series? Shows you how behind the times I am, I thought it was just the three. Dang it. Looks as if I’ll be re-reading the first two, as I haven’t read the 3rd one yet – was waiting to find it in paperback and well, then the recession hit me personally and I haven’t been to a book store in quite a while (sigh) and it’s forever gone from the library…

Leave a comment